Algorithms for reaching consensus

Algorithms for reaching consensus

The blockchain, as you know, is a distributed system with thousands of participants. As the system has no Central administrator, then the structure of the blockchain is decentralized. Therefore there is a need for a distributed consensus.

Introduction

Most cryptocurrencies are recorded in the blockchain in two ways. Recorded transactions and records of the generated blocks. They arise in different ways, at the same time stored in a decentralized database.

Having the right key, you can create a record. Enter data of the new generated block is more difficult. Here should be complied with one condition: the agreement of the members, or the consensus to prevent intentional attacks on the network.

For example, a cryptographic instant messenger out bitmessage.

Proof-of-Work (PoW)

From English. – "proof of work". To perform an action, you need to do some work. This principle was laid down in a basis of work of the messenger out bitmessage.Bitmessage

The increase in processing power of the equipment allows to obtain more coins. If you start mining bitcoin , it was possible to use a conventional processor, now there is a Union in the Pula or the construction of a huge mining farms. Hence, a significant disadvantage of POW. What is it? The need to continually increase computing power of the miners worldwide. Despite the fact that the equipment, like any technology quickly becomes obsolete, energy consumption is growing in the world. And the results are used only within the blockchain.

Proof-of-Stake (PoS)

This is the next popular algorithm for achieving consensus. The first implementation – coin PeerCoin was conducted in 2012. Here the generation of a new block is executed by the network node, i.e. Noda, who has coins in his purse. The increase in the number of coins increases the probability of generating a new block.

There may be a variety of modifications of this algorithm. For example:

  • Leased Proof of Stake (LPoS)in something similar to the pool parties with a small number of coins can lease them large. As a bonus – a share of the reward, which is different to would be impossible.
  • Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS)– this algorithm is more complex. Here, the generation of new units happening to those nodes that have elected all members of the network. The decision to change the architecture of cryptocurrencies take the same node.

The PoS algorithm, unlike POW, has virtually no drawbacks. In this case, calculations are not required, and accordingly, energy costs are minimized and there is no race of computing power. Attack 51% is also the maximum damage will cause to the attacker. Because after buying large amounts of cryptocurrency, there will be increasing its value. In the end, it will require large financial costs, she herself will turn against the attacker.

Forging mining cryptocurrency with an algorithm of consensus PoS. The bottom line is that you need to create a node, that is, a separate computer connected to the Internet. It must be a purse with a base amount of coins.

To start node DASH, you need 1000 coins. At the current rate it is more than 1 million US dollars. Not such a win-win situation for Monaco or Ark. However, to create masternode with the aim of obtaining huge profits can be important in case Your aim is to focus on is not too popular elements, the cost of which is very low. Growth will help to ensure that You are on masternode will be oblthe main addelem. You will be paid regular payments.PoS

POS also has disadvantages. Not least because the bulk of the coins for purchases not used. If You spend one coin DASH of thousands, of masternode will cease to be profitable.

However, POW and POS the list of algorithms consensus ends. Further the development has gone in directions:

  • various combinations of the two algorithms,
  • the complication of PoS with the objective of eliminating its defects.

Now let's talk about a few such algorithms.

Proof-of-Importance (PoI)

Similar in many respects to PoS. But there are some distinguishing criteria (the number of coins in the account masternode; masternode number of committed transaction; the time masternode in the network).

Effect of number of transactions and time spent masternode online is inversely proportional to the number of coins in the account. This can be seen in the NEM.

Proof-of-Authority (PoA)

The node will generate a block only in the case of special powers. The algorithm is suitable mainly for corporate and regulated coins. The developer controls the blocks, although of decentralization in this case we cannot speak.

Proof-of-Capacity (PoC)

Miners must allocate space on your hard disk in order to generate new and block and get the reward. "Computing power" is determined by the available space.

Insights

PoW

The most common consensus algorithm is PoW. It is used as in Bitcoin and most cryptocurrencies Top 10 by market capitalization. PoS it gradually enters the market. And it is projected that Ethereum go to the PoS algorithm.

Currently, the most advantageous to look mixed algorithms in which there are PoS and PoW or serve the development and the specific revision of one of them.

Рейтинг: 5/5 - 2 голосов

Tags

Алгоритмы достижения консенсуса

Алгоритмы достижения консенсуса

Блокчейн, как известно, представляет собой распределенную систему с тысячей участников. Поскольку система не имеет центрального администратора, то структура блокчейна децентрализована. Поэтому возникает потребность в распределенном консенсусе.

Введение

Основное число криптовалюты записываются в блокчейне двумя способами. В виде записи транзакциях и записи о сгенерированных блоках. Они возникают по-разному, при этом сохраняются в децентрализованной базе данных.

Имея правильный ключ, можно создать запись. Вносить данные о новом сгенерированном блоке уже труднее. Здесь должно соблюдаться одно условие: договоренность участников, или консенсус, с целью предотвращения намеренных атак на сеть.

Например, криптографический мессенджер Bitmessage.

Proof-of-Work (PoW)

С англ. – «доказательство работы». Чтобы выполнить действие, нужно проделать какую-то работу. Такой принцип был заложен в основу работы мессенджера Bitmessage.Bitmessage

Увеличение вычислительной мощности оборудования позволяет получать больше монет. Если в начале для майнинга биткоина можно было использовать обычный процессор, то сейчас происходит объединение в пулы или возведение огромных майнинг-ферм. Отсюда значительный недостаток POW. В чем он заключается? В том, что необходимо постоянно увеличивать вычислительные мощности майнеров по всему миру. При том, что оборудование, как любая техника, быстро устаревает, потребление энергии в мире растет. А результаты используются только внутри блокчейна.

Proof-of-Stake (PoS)

Это следующий по популярности алгоритм достижения консенсуса. Первая реализация – монета PeerCoin была проведена в 2012 году. Тут генерация нового блока выполняется узлом сети, т.е. нодой, который имеет монеты в своем кошельке. Рост количества монет ведет к увеличению вероятности генерации нового блока.

Могут возникать разнообразные модификации этого алгоритма. Например:

  • Leased Proof of Stake (LPoS)в чем-то схож с пулом - участники с небольшим количеством монет могут сдавать их в аренду крупным. В качестве бонуса – доля вознаграждения, которую по-другому получить было бы невозможно.
  • Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS)– этот алгоритм является более сложным. Тут генерация новых блоков происходит теми нодами, которые когда-то выбрали все участники сети. Решение о изменениях в архитектуру криптовалюты принимают те же ноды.

Алгоритм PoS, в отличие от POW, практически не имеет недостатков. В этом случае вычисления не требуются, соответственно, расходы на электроэнергию минимизированы и отсутствует гонка вычислительных мощностей. Атака 51% также максимальный ущерб нанесет злоумышленнику. Потому что после покупки большого количества криптовалюты произойдет рост ее стоимости. В итоге потребуются большие финансовые затраты, сама же она обернется против атакующего.

Форджинг – это добыча криптовалюты с алгоритмом консенсуса PoS. Суть заключается в том, что необходимо создать ноду, то есть отдельный компьютер, подключенный к Интернету. На нем должен быть кошелек с базовым количеством монет.

Чтобы запустить ноду DASH, необходимо 1000 монет. По текущему курсу это составляет более 1 млн. долларов США. Не такая выигрышная ситуация для Monaco или Ark. Однако создать мастерноду с целью получения огромной прибыли может быть актуально в случае, если Ваше внимание будет направлено на не слишком популярные моменты, стоимость которых очень низкая. Рост будет способствовать тому, что Вы на мастерноде станете обладателем основного их числа. Вам будут выплачиваться постоянные выплаты.PoS

POS тоже имеет недостатки. Хотя бы потому что основная часть монет для покупок не используется. Если Вы потратите одну монету DASH из тысячи, то мастернода прекратит приносить прибыль.

Однако на POW и POS список алгоритмов консенсуса не заканчивается. Дальнейшее развитие пошло по направлениям:

  • различные комбинации двух алгоритмов,
  • усложнение PoS с целью устранения его недостатков.

Теперь поговорим о нескольких таких алгоритмов.

Proof-of-Importance (PoI)

Схож во многом с PoS. Но есть несколько отличающих критериев (количество монет на счету мастерноды; количество совершенных мастернодой транзакций; время нахождения мастерноды в сети).

Влияние количества транзакций и время нахождения мастерноды онлайн обратно пропорционально количеству монет на счету. Это можно наблюдать на примере NEM.

Proof-of-Authority (PoA)

Узлы сгенерируют блок только в случае наличия специальных полномочий. Алгоритм подходит преимущественно для корпоративных и регулируемых монет. Разработчик контролирует блоки, хотя о децентрализации в этом случае мы не можем говорить.

Proof-of-Capacity (PoC)

Майнеры должны выделять место на жестом диске для того, чтобы был сгенерирован новый и блок и получить вознаграждение. «Вычислительная мощность» определяется наличием свободного места.

Выводы

PoW

Самым распространенным алгоритмом консенсуса является PoW. Он применяется как в Bitcoin, так и в большинстве криптовалют Топ-10 по капитализации. Его PoS также постепенно входит на рынок. И прогнозируется, что Ethereum перейдет на алгоритм PoS.

В настоящее время наиболее выигрышно смотрятся смешанные алгоритмы, в которых присутствуют PoS и PoW или же служат развитием и конкретной доработкой одного из них.

Рейтинг: 5/5 - 2 голосов

Теги