Where do you keep Bitcoins?

Where do you keep Bitcoins?

Cryptocurrency should be stored in a special wallet. The wallets differ in the type, security, convenience of access and use. We will inform you about everything that you need to select a purse.

What is bitcoin wallet?

This is a special program that generates address and control keys, and then may generate requests for transactions, to sign their key and send the attestation to the network. If someone were to gain access to the keys, it will clean out the purse so the security of key storage is the main criterion.

The purses are divided into types depending on exactly where keys are stored and how queries get signature private keys. There are 3 types:

  • Soft-wallets — program on the computer or on the phone, the keys are encrypted;
  • Online wallets — in a web browser, an analogue of online banking, keys are stored on the server.
  • Hard-purses — keys are stored in a special storage, access to which is password protected.

The choice of the purse depends on how often you use the wallet and what transactions are carried out. For example, there is no reason to buy hard wallet for $100 to keep $10 in Bitcoins. And to keep a few bitcoins in online wallet with a bad reputation is dumb. Therefore, we have described the most popular wallets, their features and scope.

Software wallets for PC

Bitcoin Corebitcoincore

Purse from the creators of the Bitcoin network, makes a computer network node.

Pros: the keys are encrypted, transactions can be sent through Tor (provides anonymity).

Cons: need a rideVAT full blockchain (150 GB), there are some "features".

Fit: the owners of large sums who want to protect their money and privacy.

Armoryarmory

Nastroika on Bitcoin Core, offers some additional features.

Pros: the keys are encrypted, you can store them on another computer or written on a paper, easy import and export of files wallets.

Cons: does not work without Bitcoin Core (150 GB of the blockchain), it is difficult to understand all the functions, there is no normal translation into Russian.

Fit: the owners of large sums, who are willing to endure the inconvenience (offline confirmation of the transaction on another computer) for excellent protection of their coins.

Electrumelectrum

The most popular soft-wallet is fast and works reliably on all operating systems. The web part is based on decentralized servers, making the job of the purse no one can slow down or stop.

Pros: the keys are encrypted, convenient export/import key files, you can store them on "cold" media. At check wallet need to come up with additional seed-phrase, and to restore a corrupted or lost key by this phrase. There are Addons to work with multipolicy and hard wallets.

Cons: none.

Fit: the owners of large sums, who often make deals and don't like "conservative" design of Bitcoin Core.

Soft-wallets for Android, iOS

BreadWallet

bread

User information and keys are stored in a separate blockchain in a deterministic network, the application connects to the network Bitcoin via SPV.

Pthey're good protection against all methods of burglary and theft of keys need a password to enter the program. You can create a seed phrase to recover the wallet and history on the other phone, even if there is no access to the old phone.

Cons: root and jailbreak greatly reduce the security of the wallet, the wallet can be used only on phone.

Suitable for the lovers of spontaneous purchases like smartphones more, what laptops.

AirBitzairbitz

Simple wallet for a mobile device, the username/password used as a seed for encryption keys — the theft of encrypted keys will not allow you to access the wallet. The app shows the nearest places that accept BTC and where paid for by the crypt you can get a discount, you can buy Bitcoins via credit card right in the app.

Pros: detailed FAQ, good security of keys, storage of information in a decentralized cloud.

Cons: sometimes crashes, the account is tied only to the login/password, has no means of recovery.

Suitable for: people who want to use Bitcoin in everyday life.

Online wallets

GreenAdressgreen

Quick wallet, keys stored on secure servers. For the transaction to require the signature of the owner and of the service, which may require additional confirmation in suspicious activity. Login via password or PIN, there is two-factor authentication by phone number. There is a Watch mode-Only via separate custom login, where you can see only the addresses of the wallets.

Pros: keys are safe, the service is accessible from any device through a normal authentication can be equally quick to send a transaction from a home PC or a borrowed smartphone.

Cons: keyloggers in the browser can to steal a username/password, PIN, you can pick up brute force.

Will suit: those who often use bitcoin on multiple devices with different operating system or do not want to load the device. Fans of the security can run Linux on a virtual machine, log in through Tor browser and send the translation in a browser.

SpectroCoinspectrocoin

Hybrid exchange and wallet, there is a version for phones. The keys are stored on a separate "cold" servers are used to sign only after approval of the transaction service. You can buy and sell Bitcoins on the built-in exchange to use the API to create their programs and shops. You can order personal Bank card with access to the wallet.

Pros: you can earn on the built-in exchange, the wallet is available on any device with a web browser, a good localization into Russian.

Cons: error after login. Standard input is via username/password, the connection 2FA hidden in the bowels of the settings, not the most intuitive interface.

Suitable for: people who need exchange, exchanger and wallet on the same service, and the ability to pay bitcoins through normal Bank terminal.

Coinapult

coinapult

A simple online wallet with basic security and a pleasant design. The wallet is designed for beginners in the world of cryptocurrency, so it has interesting functions of the type of transaction via SMS or email, as in most banks. You can purchase BTC with a Bank account, to connect your own business to Bitcoins or just trade on the exchange.

Pros: easy to use, you can send bitcoins even with black-and-white Nokia, a good localization into Russian.

Cons: everything is stored on oneom server, security.

Suitable: beginners who do not want to invest large sums and therefore are willing to sacrifice safety for the sake of a simple interface and the ability to learn Bitcoin.

Hard-purses

The most interesting category. Hard wallet or hardware wallet is a standalone device that stores your keys. Hard wallet simplifies transactions and makes stealing keys unreal, but for this pleasure you have to pay $100.

It works like this: the generated key is written to the device, to guarantee the security keys on your PC and remove. To confirm the transaction device is connected to a computer, the computer sends a request to the signature purse independently signs the transaction and returns it back to the computer. So you can confirm transactions on any computer without worrying about the safety of the keys is the computer can not access the keys, they are only used inside the unit. We will describe the individual devices that are now actually purchase.

KeepKeykeepkey

Black block with OLED screen and USB port for PC connection. Independently generates the keys and the phrase for recovery, which should be written on paper. To confirm the transaction the device should be connected to the computer, then the screen will display transaction details. If everything is correct — just press the button KeepKey confirms the transaction and sends it for execution.

Pros: safe, stylish and comfortable.

Cons: keeps only one wallet only works with a few wallets (Electrum, Multibit, Mycelium), costs $130. It is impossible to make a "cold" backup.

Suitable for the lovers of technical innovations, which want to confirm the transaction, a separate device, and the rest of the time keep it in the safe.

="text-align: center;">Ledgerledger

Ledger, the company released three devices — Blue Ledger, Ledger Nano's and Ledger CryptoSteel.

Ledger Blue , a small smartphone on a special operating system, the size of one and a half iPhone 4S. There is a display with touch screen, and keep multiple wallets and the ability to connect over USB, NFC or Bluetooth, including to smartphones. Transaction confirmed with the PIN code, there is backup and restore data using a passphrase. Cost — $280.

Ledger's Nano – USB flash drive with a screen. It is possible to record existing wallet or create a new one, confirmation of the transaction via a PIN code which you can enter the buttons on the flash drive. There is recovery via a passphrase, the ability to work with smartphones via OTG cable. The cost is $100.

Ledger CryptoSteel – steel constructor to record your passphrase. Open the lid, draw their phrase from the records with letters, close the lid. Only sold complete with two Nano's, the cost is $245.

Pros: convenient, devices work with smartphones.

Cons: expensive, if you do not use Nano's several times a day, will have to suffer long with the set PIN on the drive.

Suitable for the lovers of technology in the style of movies about hackers.

Best wallettrezor

Pioneer hard purses, more like a key FOB for a car than a cryptographic device. At best wallet there is only a screen to display information about the transaction and two buttons to confirm or cancel. At best wallet you can simultaneously store multiple keys, the device works fine not only with soft-wallets but to online wallets and Android. Best wallet original anti-theft protection PIN needs to be entered on the computer screen toICH connected device, and not really hard wallet. Cost — $110.

Pros: safe, easy.

Cons: a little expensive easy to lose, as the body is no holes or other fasteners for sticks.

Will fit: concerned about security for complete protection against keyloggers, screen recording, and other ways to steal a PIN.

Digital Bitbox

bitbox

Miniature device to confirm the transaction, the size as "open-frame" flash drive. Download the official app, connect a USB flash drive and checked the wallet on the "stick." Later you can import your own keys for access to the old wallet. To confirm the transaction, you have 3 seconds to hold down the touch button on the device. Keys are stored on a MicroSD card, you can make backups on an optional memory card or to keep the keys from several wallets on different maps. Cost — $75.

Pros: relatively cheap, safe, memory card included.

Cons: only works with the official client.

Рейтинг: 5/5 - 1 голосов

Tags

Где вы храните Биткоины?

Где вы храните Биткоины?

Криптовалюту надо хранить на специальном кошельке. Кошельки отличаются типом, безопасностью, удобством доступа и использования. Мы расскажем обо всем, что понадобиться для выбора кошелька.

Что такое биткоин кошелек?

Это специальная программа, которая генерирует адрес и ключи управления, а потом может формировать запросы на транзакции, подписывать их ключами и отправлять на подтверждение в сеть. Если злоумышленник получит доступ к ключам, он обчистит кошелек, поэтому безопасность хранения ключей — главный критерий.

Кошельки делятся на типы в зависимости от того, где именно хранятся ключи и как запросы получают подпись приватными ключами. Есть 3 типа:

  • Софт-кошельки — программа на компьютере или на телефоне, ключи шифруются;
  • Онлайн-кошельки — доступ через браузер, аналог онлайн банкинга, ключи хранятся на сервере;
  • Хард-кошельки — ключи хранятся на специальном накопителе, доступ к которому защищен паролем.

Выбор кошелька зависит от того, как часто нужно пользоваться кошельком и какие транзакции проводить. Например, нет смысла покупать хард-кошелек за $100, чтобы хранить $10 в Биткоинах. А держать несколько биткоинов на онлайн кошельке с плохой репутацией — глупость. Поэтому мы описали самые популярные кошельки, их особенности и область применения.

Софт-кошельки для ПК

Bitcoin Corebitcoincore

Кошелек от создателей сети Биткоин, делает компьютер узлом сети.

Плюсы: ключи шифруются, транзакции можно отправлять через Tor (обеспечивает анонимность).

Минусы: нужно скачивать полный блокчейн (150 Гб), нет некоторых «фич».

Подойдет: владельцам крупных сумм, которые хотят защитить деньги и свою приватность.

Armoryarmory

Насдтройка над Bitcoin Core, предлагает некоторые дополнительные функции.

Плюсы: ключи шифруются, их можно хранить на другом компьютере или переписать на бумагу, легкий импорт и экспорт файлов кошельков.

Минусы: не работает без Bitcoin Core (150 Гб блокчейна), сложно разобраться во всех функциях, нет нормального перевода на русский.

Подойдет: владельцам крупных сумм, которые готовы терпеть неудобства (офлайн подтверждение транзакции на другом компьютере) ради отличной защиты своих монет.

Electrumelectrum

Самый популярный софт-кошелек, быстро и надежно работает на всех операционных системах. Веб-часть базируется на децентрализованных серверах, благодаря чему работу кошелька никто не может замедлить или остановить.

Плюсы: ключи шифруются, удобный экспорт/импорт файлов ключей, их можно хранить на «холодном» носителе. При регистрации кошелька надо придумать дополнительную seed-фразу и восстановить испорченные или утерянные ключи по этой фразе. Есть аддоны для работы с мультиподписями и хард-кошельками.

Минусы: нет.

Подойдет: владельцам крупных сумм, которые часто совершают сделки и не любят «консервативный» дизайн Bitcoin Core.

Софт-кошельки для Android, iOS

BreadWallet

bread

Информация о пользователях и ключи хранятся в отдельном блокчейне в детерминированной сети, приложение подключается к сети Bitcoin через SPV.

Плюсы: хорошая защита от разных методов взлома и кражи ключей, нужен пароль для входа в программу. Можно создать seed-фразу для восстановления кошелька и истории на другом телефоне, даже если нет доступа к старому телефону.

Минусы: root и jailbreak сильно уменьшают безопасность кошелька, кошелек можно использовать только на телефоне.

Подойдет: любителям спонтанных покупок, которые любят смартфоны больше, чему ноутбуки.

AirBitzairbitz

Простой кошелек для мобильных устройств, логин/пароль используются как seed для шифрования ключей — кража шифрованных ключей не позволит получить доступ к кошельку. Приложение показывает ближайшие заведения, где принимают BTC и где за оплату криптой можно получить скидку, Биткоины можно купить через кредитку прямо в приложении.

Плюсы: детальное FAQ, хорошая безопасность ключей, хранение информации в децентрализованном облаке.

Минусы: иногда вылетает, аккаунт привязан только к логину/паролю, нет способов восстановления.

Подойдет: людям, которые хотят активно пользоваться Биткоинами в повседневной жизни.

Онлайн-кошельки

GreenAdressgreen

Быстрый кошелек, ключи хранятся на защищенных серверах. Для проведения транзакции требуется подпись владельца и сервиса, который может запросить дополнительное подтверждении при подозрительной активности. Вход по паролю или PIN-коду, есть двухфакторная аутентификация по номеру телефона. Есть режим Watch-Only через отдельно настраиваемый логин, в котором можно увидеть только адреса кошельков.

Плюсы: ключи в безопасности, сервис доступен с любого устройства, благодаря нормальной аутентификации можно одинаково быстро отправить транзакцию с домашнего ПК или одолженного смартфона.

Минусы: кейлогеры в браузере могут украсть логин/пароль, PIN можно подобрать брутфорсом.

Подойдет: тем, кто часто пользуется биткоинами на нескольких устройствах с разной операционной системой или не хочет нагружать устройства. Любители безопасности могут запустить Linux на виртуальной машине, зайти в браузер через Tor и отправить перевод в браузере.

SpectroCoinspectrocoin

Гибрид биржи и кошелька, есть версия для телефонов. Ключи хранятся на отдельных «холодных» серверах, используются для подписи только после подтверждения транзакции сервисом. Можно покупать и продавать Биткоины на встроенной бирже, использовать API для создания своих программ и магазинов. Можно заказать именную банковскую карту с доступом к кошельку.

Плюсы: можно заработать на встроенной бирже, кошелек доступен на любом устройстве с браузером, хорошая локализация на русский.

Минусы: ошибка после входа. Стандартный вход — через логин/пароль, подключение 2FA скрыто в недрах настроек, не самый интуитивный интерфейс.

Подойдет: людям, которым нужна биржа, обменник и кошелек на одном сервисе, а еще возможность платить биткоинами через обычный банковский терминал.

Coinapult

coinapult

Простой онлайн-кошелек с базовой безопасностью и приятным дизайном. Кошелек разработан для новичков в мире криптовалюты, поэтому в нем есть интересные функции типа транзакции по СМС или email, как в большинстве банков. Можно оплачивать покупку BTC с банковского счета, подключить собственный бизнес к Биткоину или просто торговать на бирже.

Плюсы: простой в использовании, можно отослать биткоины даже с черно-белой Nokia, хорошая локализация на русский.

Минусы: все хранится на одном сервере, безопасность — так себе.

Подойдет: новичкам, которые не хотят вкладывать большие суммы и поэтому готовы пожертвовать безопасностью ради простого интерфейса и возможности изучить Биткоин.

Хард-кошельки

Самая интересная категория. Хард-кошелек или аппаратный кошелек — это отдельное устройство, на котором хранятся ваши ключи. Хард-кошелек упрощает транзакции и делает кражу ключей нереальной, но за это удовольствие надо заплатить от $100.

Работает это так: сгенерированные ключи записываются на девайс, для гарантирования безопасности ключи на ПК удаляют. Для подтверждения транзакции устройство подключают к компьютеру, компьютер отправляет запрос на подпись, кошелек самостоятельно подписывает транзакцию и возвращает ее обратно на компьютер. Так можно подтверждать транзакции на любом компьютере, не переживая за сохранность ключей — компьютер никак не может получить доступ к ключам, они используются только внутри устройства. Мы опишем отдельные устройства, которые сейчас реально купить.

KeepKeykeepkey

Черный блок с OLED-экраном и USB-портом для подключения к ПК. Самостоятельно генерирует ключи и фразу для восстановления, которую следует записать на бумаге. Для подтверждения транзакции устройство надо подключить к компьютеру, после чего на экране отобразится информация по транзакции. Если все верно — просто нажмите кнопку, KeepKey подтвердит транзакцию и отправит ее на исполнение.

Плюсы: безопасно, стильно и удобно.

Минусы: хранит только один кошелек, работает только с некоторыми кошельками (Electrum, Multibit, Mycelium), стоит $130. Невозможно сделать «холодный» бэкап.

Подойдет: любителям технических новинок, которые хотят подтверждать транзакции отдельным устройством, а в остальное время хранить его в сейфе.

Ledgerledger

Компания Ledger выпустила три устройства — Ledger Blue, Ledger Nano S и Ledger CryptoSteel.

Ledger Blue – небольшой смартфон на специальной операционной системе, размером с полтора iPhone 4S. Есть дисплей с тачскрином, хранение нескольких кошельков и возможность подключения по USB, NFC или Bluetooth, в том числе и к смартфонам. Транзакции подтверждаются PIN-кодом, есть бэкап и восстановление данных через кодовую фразу. Стоимость — $280.

Ledger Nano S – флешка с экраном. На нее можно записать существующие кошельки или создать новые, подтверждение транзакции — через PIN-код, который надо ввести кнопками на флешке. Есть восстановление через кодовую фразу, возможность работы со смартфонами через OTG кабель. Стоимость — $100.

Ledger CryptoSteel – стальной конструктор для записи кодовой фразы. Открываем крышку, составляем свою фразу из пластинок с буквами, закрываем крышку. Продается только в комплекте с двумя Nano S, стоимость комплекта — $245.

Плюсы: удобно, устройства работают со смартфонами.

Минусы: дорого, если не пользоваться Nano S несколько раз в день, придется долго мучаться с набором PIN на флешке.

Подойдет: любителям технологий в стиле фильмов о хакерах.

Trezortrezor

Пионер хард-кошельков, больше напоминает брелок для авто, чем криптографическое устройство. На Trezor есть только экран для отображения информации по транзакции и две кнопки, чтобы подтвердить или отменить. На Trezor можно одновременно хранить несколько ключей, устройство нормально работает не только с софт-кошельками, но и с онлайн-кошельками и Андроид. Trezor оригинально защищен от кражи — PIN нужно вводить на экране компьютера, к которому подключено устройство, а не на самом хард-кошельке. Стоимость — $110.

Плюсы: безопасно, просто.

Минусы: такую маленькую и дорогую вещь легко потерять, так как на корпусе нет дырок или других креплений для брелков.

Подойдет: обеспокоенным безопасностью для полной защит от кейлогеров, записи экрана и прочих способов утащить PIN.

Digital Bitbox

bitbox

Миниатюрное устройство для подтверждения транзакций, по размеру — как «бескорпусная» флешка. Качаем официальное приложение, подключаем флешку и регистрируем кошелек на «флешку». Позже можно импортировать свои ключи для доступа к старому кошельку. Чтобы подтвердить транзакцию, надо на 3 секунды зажать сенсорную кнопку на устройстве. Ключи хранятся на MicroSD карте, можно делать бэкапы на дополнительные карты памяти или хранить ключи от нескольких кошельков на разных картах. Стоимость — $75.

Плюсы: относительно дешево, безопасно, карта памяти в комплекте.

Минусы: работает только с официальным клиентом.

Рейтинг: 5/5 - 1 голосов

Теги